Sammy Award

Sam Barnes
Robert Samuel Barnes

Project Youth OCBF’s “Sammy” award is given each year to a recipient or recipients who have contributed substantially to Project Youth in order to assist it in best serving the youth and families of Orange County. The “Sammy” honors their commitment and unwavering support. The “Sammy” is dedicated in the loving memory of Robert Sam Barnes, a longtime supporter and friend who contributed greatly to Project Youth.

23rd Annual Sammy Award

A longtime supporter of Project Youth, Dennis W. Ghan, our 2016 Sammy Award recipient, demonstrates an exemplary commitment to service and bettering the Orange County community. His level of commitment goes far beyond his obligations as a member of the Board of the Directors and Society of Fellows, and as past president of Project Youth. Dennis has dedicated countless hours to recruit new donors and friends to the organization, and to volunteer and assume an active role in the Project SELF program. Among his many notable contributions to Project Youth, Dennis has been instrumental in securing a new home for the organization.

In his professional life, Dennis is a real estate and corporate attorney at Palmieri, Tyler, Wiener, Wilhelm & Waldron LLP whose career spans 35 years. Our gratitude for the energies he has devoted to Project Youth and the value he brings to our organization cannot be overstated.

Sammy Award Recipients
2016Dennis W. Ghan
23rd Annual Sammy Award recipient Dennis Ghan with 2016 OCBF President Kyle Kawakami
23rd Annual Sammy Award recipient Dennis Ghan with 2016 OCBF President Kyle Kawakami
2015Carolyn C. McKitterick, Esq.
2014Mark E. Minyard, Esq
2013John B. Hurlbut, Jr., Esq.
2012Santa Ana Police Department
2011James M. Skorheim, JD, CPA
2010Cindy Stokke, JD
2009Michael P. Maguire, Esq.
2008William S. O’Hare, Esq.
2007Michael D. Pursell, Esq.
2006Ygal Sonenshine and Justice Sheila Sonenshine (Ret.)
2005Paul and Jean Cleary
2004Jane Mills Martin
2003Irvine Health Foundation
2002John C. Herklotz
2000Orange County Superior Court
1999Ann Avery Andres, Esq.
1998The Honorable Judith M. Ryan (Ret.)
1997Donald L. Morrow, Esq.
1996The R.C. Baker Foundation
1995First American Title Insurance Company Nordstrom
1994Robert Samuel Barnes