Annual Meeting - Overview

2016 Annual Meeting & Society of Fellows Recognition Reception

OCBF’s Annual Meeting & Society of Fellows Recognition Reception was held on Thursday, December 8, 2016 at First American Financial Corporation. It was a great turnout and a wonderful evening among friends and supporters. Judge David O. Carter represented OCBF as master of ceremonies.

The event provided an opportunity to take a look back on 2016 and acknowledge the donors, agencies, businesses, and volunteers that make our work possible and successful. A special thanks and congratulations to the 2016 award recipients that were recognized and honored for their dedication and commitment to OCBF:

Society of Fellows Distinguished Judicial Fellow Award:
The Honorable Steven L. Perk

Judge Steven L. Perk
Judge Perk

Society of Fellows Distinguished Fellow Award:
John B. Hurlbut, Jr., Esq.

Chris Wesierski, Judge Carter, John Hurlbut,
and 2017 OCBF President Dan Robinson

22nd Annual Robert “Sammy” Barnes Award:
Dennis W. Ghan, Esq.

23rd Annual Sammy Award recipient Dennis W. Ghan
2016 OCBF President Kyle Kawakami
and Dennis Ghan

Outstanding Leadership Awards:
SHORTSTOP and STOP SHORT of Addiction instructors
Erica Arellano, Orange County Sheriff-Coroner Department;
Mark Case, Orange County Department of Education;
Eddie Nunez, Santa Ana Police Department;
Javier Orozco, Orange County Probation Department;
Tony Sanchez, Orange County District Attorney’s Office;
Mel Sarabia, Santa Ana Police Department;
Kevin Stinson, 4th District Court of Appeal
Lesley Trejo, Orange County Sheriff-Coroner Department; and
Juan Villegas, Orange County Sheriff’s Department

Sheriff’s Special Officer Juan Villegas
and Kyle Kawakami

Outstanding Community School Partner Award:
Jesse Penunuri, Santa Ana Unified School District

Kyle Kawakami and Jesse Penunuri

Outstanding Mentor Award:
Taylor R. Dalton, Esq., Green & Hall, APC

Kyle Kawakami and Taylor Dalton